Pet Peeves: Words Used in the Wrong Context

I do not claim to have perfect vocabulary. I make mistakes all the time. I swear a lot (which I don’t see a problem with, but some people do. Fuck them).

But some people want to sound smart and/or witty and always use these words/expressions in the wrong context:

Literally: it does not mean “totally”. It is the opposite of “figuratively”. If you say you literally fell off your chair from laughter, that means you were laughing so hard that you could not control your fucking body and fell from the chair you were sitting on, ONTO THE FUCKING FLOOR.

Ironic: e.g.: Alanis Morissette’s song Ironic. Nothing about its lyrics is ironic (which I guess makes it ironic on some level. Huh).

To beg the question: this does NOT mean to raise a question. It is a kind of logical fallacy in which a statement or claim is assumed to be true without evidence other than the statement or claim itself. How do I know this? Simple, I read this mug (and I only use words whose meaning I am sure of):

Example 1: I am pretty because I am beautiful. Example 2: Christianity.

This begs the question: what are some other words that literally piss YOU off when people get them wrong?

Ha! Now that was ironic!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. LOL I wrote about this once. It drives me crazy too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

  • Facebook stalk us!

